What is the Motorcycle Helmet Law?
Michigan law now permits motorcyclists to decide if they wish to hear a helmet or not. However, there are certain restrictions.
To legally not wear a helmet, a motorcycle operator must:
- Be at least 21 years old.
- Have at least $20,000 in first-party medical benefits.
- Have held a motorcycle endorsement for at least two years or have passed an approved motorcycle safety course.
The law also allows for motorcycle passengers to not wear a helmet. Passengers also may not wear a helmet as long as they:
- Are at least 21 years old.
- Have at least $20,000 in first-party medical benefits insurance in addition to the insurance that is required of the motorcycle operator.
Individuals younger than 21 years-old must wear a helmet that is approved by the U.S. Department of Transportation. Individuals younger than 19 years old must still wear a helmet if operating a moped on a public highway.
The motorcycle helmet statute, MCL 257.658, can be found here.
Michigan motorcycle accident injury cases demand specific detail and expertise. If you or your family member is suffering from physical and emotional pain due to a motorcycle accident caused in some part by another person, the motorcycle accident attorneys at the Law Offices of Lee Steinberg can help.
In an initial consultation, we can discuss your claim in depth and help you to understand all your legal options. Even if you or your loved one were not wearing a helmet, you may still have a strong personal injury case and could recoup a huge portion of your medical expenses, as well as damages for lost wages, pain and suffering, and more. Please call us at 1-800-LEE-FREE (1-800-533-3733) if you have any questions about Michigan motorcycle accident injury law.
Contact Lee Free Today!
NO FEE until WE WIN.