Michigan Motorcycle Helmet Laws | Call 1-800-LEE-FREE

I'll Be Right There

Request Free Consultation

Michigan Motorcycle Helmet Laws

Michigan Motorcycle Helmet Laws

Riding on a motorcycle is a fun and carefree adventure. Hitting the open road is an invigorating experience. However, because motorcycle operators are exposed with no protection, and must deal with other motorists who are often not as careful, it is vital operators and their passengers are protected.

The Michigan motorcycle accident attorneys at the Lee Steinberg Law Firm, P.C. assist clients everyday throughout the state of Michigan. We specialize in motorcycle accident law, with our team of attorneys and legal professionals handling all types of motorcycle claims for clients injured while riding a bike or moped. These claims are compensation for pain and suffering and emotional distress, as well as Michigan no-fault cases for benefits such as the payment of medical expenses and lost wages.

There are different ways to protect yourself when operating a motorcycle. Wearing a leather or synthetic jacket that is designated for a motorcycle is a smart way to guard against road rash if a crash occurs. Wearing basic eye protection, such as glasses or a helmet visor is important to prevent bugs and other items from obstructing your vision. Boots that are high enough to cover the ankle bone with also provide a sturdy sole and toe area is also important. However, perhaps the most important safety equipment when operating a motorcycle is the helmet to protect against head injuries. 

In Michigan, the helmet requirement is dependent on certain criteria and the law allows motorcycle riders to decide if they want to wear a helmet while riding. To legally not wear a helmet, a motorcycle operator must:

  1. Be at least 21 years old;
  2. Have at least $20,000 in first-party medical benefits;
  3. Have held a motorcycle endorsement for at least two years, or have passed an approved motorcycle safety course.

Motorcycle Passengers who wish to not wear a helmet are allowed to do, so as long as they:

  1. Are at least 21 years-old;
  2. Have at least $20,000 in first-party medical benefits insurance in addition to the insurance required of the motorcycle operator.

Under Michigan law, a person under 21 years-old must wear a helmet approved by the U.S. Department of Transportation when operating or riding on a motorcycle. A person under 19 years-old and operating a moped on a public highway is also required to wear a helmet.

The experience of riding on a motorcycle is extraordinary. Individuals from all walks of life and backgrounds can come together and experience a shared bond that creates lasting memories. However, when tragedy strikes, and a crash with a motor vehicle or other type of wreck occurs while on a motorcycle in Michigan, the team of lawyers at the Lee Steinberg Law Firm, P.C. are here to help.

Please call our law firm toll free at 1-800-LEE-FREE (1-800-533-3733). Our personal injury attorneys can answer all your questions and assist you on the road to recovery. There is no charge ever until we win your case and we treat each client as a special member of our extended family.

Video transcript

There’s now a specific motorcycle helmet law for Michigan riders. You are now permitted to not wear a helmet, but you have to meet certain conditions. First, you have to be at least 21 years old, okay? You have to have at least $20,000 in first-party medical benefits, meaning under your own insurance policy for your motorcycle, you have to have at least 20 grand in medical benefits. Most people don’t, they usually have about five, so make sure you check your policy first. You also have have to have held a motorcycle endorsement for two years, or I think … The last thing is you have to have held a motorcycle endorsement for two years or have passed and improved motorcycle safety course. If you’re a new rider and you just got your endorsement, you still have to wear a helmet. If you’re under 21, you still have to wear a helmet.

If you’re not adequately … If you don’t have enough insurance coverage, you still have to wear a helmet. Make sure you do those things because if the police pull you over and they find out that you’re not wearing a helmet and they see that you don’t meet those requirements, they are going to give you a ticket every single time. There’s no reason for that. Just be careful. If you’re a passenger, you also do not have to wear a helmet, but again, you have to be at least 21 years old and you have to have at least have $20,000 of that medical coverage on the motorcycle that you’re riding on, okay? Make sure that is done before you elect not to wear a helmet.