What If I'm Pulled Over Without Proof of Insurance? - Call Lee Free

I'll Be Right There

Request Free Consultation

What Happens if You Get Pulled Over Without Proof of Insurance?

Driving without car insurance is against the law in the State of Michigan. Failure to have car insurance for a vehicle you own prevents you from recovering any type of compensation if you are involved in an accident – even if the accident is not your fault. For example, if a drunk driver violently hits you, and you break your leg, you cannot collect no-fault benefits or go after the drunk driver for pain and suffering if you did not have insurance on the your vehicle.

This blog is about a failure to produce proof of insurance when you are pulled over.

Under Michigan law, a person who does not present proof of insurance when pulled over may have to pay a civil infraction or fine. At the time of the violation, the person will be given a citation by a police officer.

The law has changed recently on the amount of the state fine. Prior to October 1, 2012, the state fine was $200 for two consecutive years. However, that specific fine has since been eliminated. However, courts will still impose a fine for failure to present proof of insurance. Usually the fine is only $25 if proof of insurance is provided to the court within 14 days. If no proof is provided within 14 days however, the fine can be well over $100, depending on the jurisdiction and court.

If you did not have insurance at the time of the ticket, but purchase insurance and provide proof of insurance within 14 days of the ticket to the court, this will help decrease the cost of the fine as well.

Failure to provide proof of insurance also prevents the car owner from transferring, renewing or replacing the plate. In addition, the car owner’s license can get suspended.

Remember, there must be insurance on all cars, truck and motorcycles in Michigan. If you failed to provide proof of insurance when you are pulled over, take care of the problem immediately. Go the district court in the jurisdiction where the incident occurred and pay the fine. This will save you grief and money in the future.

The personal injury attorneys at the Lee Steinberg Law Firm have been helping Michigan victims for over 40 years.

Please call us at 1-800-LEE-FREE or 1-800-533-3733 with any questions.