What Is the Fine for not Having Michigan Auto Insurance?
Getting into a Michigan car accident is a scary and sometimes lift altering event. There are a lot of things to think about immediately after the accident, such as notifying the police, calling medical personnel if needed, getting the name of the drivers involved and taking photographs of the accident scene.
Another important thing is making sure you have auto insurance. Under Michigan law, car insurance is mandatory for all cars, truck and motorcycles operating on Michigan roadways. If you own a car or truck, and fail to have proper no-fault insurance, you cannot make claim for either no-fault benefits or pain and suffering. This result is true even if the other driver was drunk and caused the collision. So have car insurance is key.
In addition, there are fines involved for not having auto insurance. According to statute MCL 500.3102(2), a person who operates a motor vehicle on a public highway without car insurance is guilty of a misdemeanor. The fine is between $200 and $500, with a possibility of jail time up to 1 year. A fine or ticket for not having proof of insurance will usually be given at the accident scene by the responding police officer. If the owner does have car insurance, but cannot produce it at the accident scene, the owner can produce it a later time to a magistrate or district court judge.
The fines and penalties for not have Michigan car insurance are severe. There is the ticket and misdemeanor, as well as the legal penalty for not being able to pursue a claim for compensation. Upon purchasing a new car, make sure you also purchase car insurance before driving your new car off the lot.
Talk to An Experienced Accident Attorney
Car accidents can be life-altering, causing serious injuries, and sometimes death. With offices throughout Michigan, the Lee Steinberg Law Firm are positioned to help the victims of dangerous drivers anywhere in the state. If you or a loved one were injured due to the negligence of another driver, call Lee Free and speak to our expert attorneys at 1-800-LEE-FREE (1-800-533-3733). You can also contact us by filling out our simple Free Case Evaluation Form.