Michigan Uninsured Motorist Coverage Claim - Lee Steinberg Law Office

I'll Be Right There

Request Free Consultation

Michigan Uninsured Motorist Lawyers

Michigan uninsured driver lawyers

Michigan Uninsured Driver Attorneys

Unfortunately, many negligent drivers who cause car accidents in Michigan do not have adequate insurance to cover the injuries they cause. Sometimes, they lack any insurance at all. As a result, the car accident victim can be stuck without any opportunity to receive compensation for the injury he or she sustained. For this reason, it is very important every Michigan driver review their own auto insurance policy to determine of they carry Michigan no-fault insurance, including uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage. The Michigan uninsured motorist lawyers at the Lee Steinberg Law Firm highly recommend you purchase this coverage.

Is Uninsured Motorist Coverage Mandatory in Michigan?

In Michigan, this insurance is not mandatory. However, in many areas of the state more than 20% of drivers are operating uninsured cars.   

What is Uninsured Motorist Coverage?

Uninsured motorist coverage is insurance a car owner purchases from his or her own carrier and provides a way to obtain pain and suffering due to the negligence of an uninsured driver. Basically, if you are injured in a car accident and the negligent driver who caused the crash does not have car insurance, your own insurance company steps into the shoes of the uninsured driver and pays the pain and suffering. The claim is made against your own insurance company. Uninsured motorist claims only occur when the at-fault driver and owner of the at-fault vehicle do not carry car insurance.

Is Uninsured Motorist Coverage Expensive in Michigan?

In the grand scheme of auto insurance costs, uninsured motorist coverage is very affordable. The minimum amount a person can purchase is $50,000. The premium for that amount can be as low as $10 to $15 for six months of coverage. A higher coverage of $250,000 is usually a few dollars more.

I Don’t Have Michigan Uninsured Motorist Coverage, Can I Still Make a Claim?

Yes. Even if you don’t have car insurance of your own, you can still make an uninsured motorist claim. Often, the auto insurance must pay uninsured motorist benefits s to ALL occupants inside the vehicle at the time of the crash. This includes people not on the policy. In addition, you may be covered under the auto insurance of relative you lived with at the time of the crash. This is why it’s important to contact a dedicated Michigan uninsured driver lawyer to find out if you are eligible for these benefits.

Can I Still Sue the Uninsured Driver?

Yes, the uninsured driver is still responsible for the injuries he or she caused. In fact, most insurance companies require that the uninsured driver is named in the lawsuit. When the uninsured motorist case is settled, the insurance company can decide if it wants to subrogate or try and collect reimbursement from the uninsured driver.

How Do I Make an Uninsured Motorist Claim in Michigan?

Setting up an uninsured motorist claim entails professional help. Our team of quality Michigan uninsured motorist lawyers and professional staff can make the process easy for you. There are certain notice requirements set forth in the insurance policy that must be met and dealing with a car insurance company on your own, even your own car insurance company, can be difficult. You may even undermine your own case. For example, in a hit-and-run accident, many insurance companies require a police report to be made within 24 hours of the crash. Failing to do this can jeopardize the entire lawsuit.

How Do I Sue a Hit-and-Run Driver?

Hit-and-run crashes are very frustrating. Not only do you deal with the financial pain of a damaged vehicle, along with the injuries and medical bills, but there is the reality that the bad guy may never get caught. When this happens, do not lose hope. The Lee Steinberg Law Firm team of Michigan hit-and-run accident lawyers have handled countless cases like this. We will do whatever it takes to try and find the bad actor. We also review all possible insurance policies to determine coverage and the best possible outcome for our clients, no matter the situation.

Police Officers are Not Responsible For a Police Chase Crash

In situations where there is a police chase, in almost all situations the law enforcement agency pursuing the vehicle cannot be held responsible if a crash occurs. For example, if a drunk driver decides to run from the police, and the drunk driver then runs a red light and collides with your vehicle, the drunk driver is obviously negligent. But the police force that started the pursuit is usually granted immunity. This means the officers and the department are protected from civil liability. However, the individuals injured due to the pursuit can still make a claim against the drunk driver as well as the insurance company of the vehicle the drunk driver occupied. In many situations, the drunk driver won’t have insurance. But if the vehicle the injured people occupied has uninsured motorist coverage, then an injury victim can get compensation through this coverage.

Stolen Cars Are Not Covered by Insurance

If you are injured by a vehicle that has been stolen, even if the stolen vehicle has insurance that insurance carrier will mostly likely deny the claim. Most insurance policies require permissive use for the driver to extend coverage. When a car is stolen, obviously the owner did not give the driver permission to use the vehicle. Because of this, the auto insurance carrier will deny it has to pay anything to any other person’s injured due to the driver of the stolen vehicle. This is where UM coverage comes into play. In these situations, a person stuck in this situation can turn to their own insurance company for protection. If the vehicle is covered by uninsured motorist coverage, and that vehicle is struck by a stolen car, the individuals in the vehicle can still make a claim for pain and suffering compensation.

Cars Taken Without Permission

Just like stolen vehicles, vehicles that are taken without permission will not be covered by the insurance company if they crash into another vehicle. For example, you are at your home with some friends watching TV. A friend decides to grab your car keys without your knowledge and drive to the store to pick up some food. While on his way, he crashes your car into another car causing severe injuries. In this situation, your car insurance company may argue they do not have to cover for the injuries caused by your friend. He took the car keys without your permission. In other words, he did not have permissive use to operate the vehicle. Because he did not have permissive use of your car, usually the car insurance carrier will deny the claim. This leaves the injured people without recourse to go after the at-fault driver. However, the individuals injured by the at-fault driver can make a UM claim through the auto insurance company for the vehicle they occupied, or their own auto insurance carrier.

How Many People Don’t Have Auto Insurance in Michigan?

The numbers are staggering. But in Michigan, according to the Insurance Information Institute, roughly 25% of drivers do not carry auto insurance. Michigan is the second highest uninsured state, with only Mississippi having more uninsured drivers. In many cities, like Detroit, Flint and Saginaw, the numbers are even higher. Some estimate the rate of uninsured drivers is more than 40% in some neighborhoods. The reasons for this are multiple, but without question the biggest reason is cost. Car insurance in Michigan is expensive. We are a no-fault state. Although we receive great benefits from this insurance, it does come at a cost. As a result, the number one reason why you need uninsured motorist coverage is to protect yourself. You can’t control who is going to hit you and cause a crash. Sometimes the at-fault driver is insured. But often they are not. And collecting money from an uninsured driver is a fool’s errand. As the saying goes, you can’t get blood from a stone. That is why it is so important to buy uninsured motorist coverage.

Is There a Time Limit for Uninsured Motorist Claims?

Yes. Under Michigan law, in most situations, UM claims must be filed in court against the insurance company within 3 years of the auto accident. This is the statute of limitations for a standard auto negligence claim in Michigan. And insurance policies must conform to the law in Michigan.

Get the Best Uninsured Motorist Lawyers in Michigan

The Lee Steinberg Law Firm has been helping people obtain Michigan uninsured driver compensation for almost 50 years. Our experienced team of Michigan car accident lawyers and Michigan truck accident lawyers are experts. Call our law firm today and speak with our experienced Michigan personal injury lawyers. You pay nothing unless we win your car accident case. Let us help you by calling 1-800-LEE-FREE (1-800-533-3733).